Yeah

Never had I felt so excited before on a Saturday morning when I got up from bed. Today is the highlight of my life. I went to vote!

The polling is held in a primary school located across the street where I live. A different atmosphere was lingering in the air when I joined the residents in my neighbourhood to the polling centre. Besides the World Cup, polling is the second common talking point in the neighbourhood. I saw strangers on the street asking one another: “Have you voted?” and I couldn’t stop smiling when I saw an indian guy so dressed up for the occasion! Perhaps he was expecting some reporters to interview him at the polling centre and take his pictures for tomorrow’s headline.

Surprisingly there were not many voters in the queues at the polling centre. I think majority of the voters need some more time to decide and plan to cast their votes later in the day. The registration process was swift and simple. Upon producing my poll card and identity card, I was given a ballot paper. My heart was beating uncontrollably fast when I went up to the polling station to cast my vote. I had to take a deep breath to calm myself down before taking action. After checking the two logos on the card twice, I drew a big cross beside the one I decided on. The most crucial moment came when I had to drop the ballot paper into a sealed cardboard ballot box. I stared at the box for a few seconds, hesitated for a moment, took a deep breath again and pushed the card in. That was it. The entire voting process took less than 15 minutes. I felt like I was walking in my dream when I left the polling centre.

I wish I had snapped pictures of myself at the polling station with my voting card. I have made a very important decision today for myself and for the nation. This is the second time in my life that I feel involved as a citizen of Singapore.

