Honesty

Can online friends be real friends, or should they just remain as our imaginery friends?

I am not a person who actively seeks friends online. In fact, I was not open to the idea of making friends with online strangers until lately. My skeptism about online friends had been largely influenced by a horrifying experience one of my friends had. But to be fair, I must qualify that her motive of making online friends to start off with was more personal and slightly more complicated.

I am glad that I met some nice people online through blogging and decided to stop my skeptism and made that ‘bold’ move to meet up with them a couple of months later. Initially I was nervous, not knowing what to expect, and when we finally met face-to-face, I was relieved to find out that they are just normal people like me and everyone else. A nice meeting subsequently led to more outings and now we have become real-life friends for one another.

And I agree with one of them who commented that honesty is the key to maintaining a relationship, be it online or offline.

