Help Me 

 

Someone once asked me if I have been married before and upon hearing my reply commented that it must have been hard on me to still be single and unattached at this age. My jaw almost dropped. For a would-be-divorcee to tell me that was unexpected and unbecoming. What makes someone think that being married and divorced has better social standing than us singles?

.

Another married friend who after lamenting to me about her stale marriage advised me to find a husband while I still have the youthful looks that men desire in a woman. I felt like I am a soon-to-be-expired mechandise waiting for a buyer. How about auctioning myself off on eBay since online auction is now making a wave? Not a bad idea. I might receive attractive offshore biddings like the integrated resorts development project and make my family proud.

.

I also have a guy friend who is so depressed about his single status that he keeps wallowing in endless self-pity. It is as if he has been a laughing stock among his group of friends and he can’t take the mockery any longer. I asked him why he has to put such immense pressure on himself to get hitched and warned him about the consequences of a rush marriage but his revelation was rather shocking. He told me being a divorcee would still be far better than being a single because it means he has been wanted before but a single person is deemed “unwanted”, very much like a piece of rejected goods lying in the warehouse collecting dust. Thus, being a single is more depressing.

.

I could think of a thousand reasons to start a debate with him but I did not have the heart to argue with someone who apparently has driven himself crazy by his own silly thoughts. I let him go on this one.  

.

After chatting up with these few friends, I can’t help thinking social stigma is so deviously powerful and damaging to the mental well-being of us singles. Perhaps we all should get married tomorrow (never mind about the divorce later) before we commit mass suicide.

